Second Years

Published Date

Though we shouldn’t dwell too much on the past, it’s only right that we acknowledge the continuing success of our Second Year debating team.  Last year’s team dominated the Limerick City Debating Competition for junior students and won the competition in a thrilling final against Ardscoil Rís by unanimous decision! We look forward to seeing Jemma Duhig (Captain), Amy Cullen, Mary-Kate Flanagan, and our super-researchers Ellen Martin and Lauren Morton at the podium again in the future.

The 2015/16 iteration of the team continued to represent ASM with pride!  Therese Houghton, Sarah McDarby, Olivia O’ Donoghue, Sandra Zuzga, and Kaitlyn Lowe Neill gelled well as a team and fought their way to the quarter-finals of this year’s competition.  The girls treated us to some truly thought-provoking and passionate arguments on topics as diverse as social media and arts education before being narrowly pipped to the post!  Therese Houghton even managed to win the coveted “Best Speaker” award in each one of the debates she competed in!  The girls had such a great experience that they have already staked their collective claim on team places once they get the Junior Cert out of the way!